April 1, 2023

Non-partisan and pluralist communication and debate platform

Home » Content » Guerra, Margallo and parliamentarians of the Spanish constitutional legislature of 1977 ask not to depend on independentism
Half a hundred deputies of the 1977 Courts claim an agreement for the unity of Spain

Madrid 29 NOV 2019

Half a hundred parliamentarians of the constituent courts of 1977, including Alfonso Guerra, Marcelino Oreja, Landelino Lavilla, Nicolás Redondo or Juan José Laborda, have signed a manifesto asking the parties for an agreement for the unity of Spain and a government that does not depend on independentism . “We make a respectful appeal to the deputies and senators of the current legislature so that the next Government can fully exercise its functions within the Constitution, without relying on political groups that do not accept it or want to abolish it by illegal and illegitimate procedures,” says the text signed by the 1977 parliamentarians in reference to the independentist formations.

Likewise, they ensure that the resolution of the conflicts that today threaten coexistence in some territories of Spain – in reference to Catalonia – can only be achieved through the pact of parties that accept the constitutional framework and respect for the rule of law and the law . Those responsible for coordinating the manifesto have been former UCD ministers Marcelino Oreja and Soledad Becerril, former Senate President Juan José Laborda (PSOE) and former UCD deputy Elena Moreno.

The manifesto is signed by each of them and is open to all parliamentarians of the Constituent Courts who wish to join. Among the socialist signatories, in addition to Guerra, Laborda and the former UGT Secretary General Nicolás Redondo, there are former ministers such as Virgilio Zapatero, Enrique Múgica, Javier Sáenz Cosculluela and Jerónimo Saavedra, the former Extremadura president Juan Carlos Rodríguez Ibarra and the former attorney general of State, Leopoldo Torres.

Also, the former mayor of Madrid Juan Barranco and that of A Coruña Francisco Vázquez, and other ex-deputies such as Ciriaco de Vicente, Guillermo Galeote and Alonso Puerta. Former UCD parliamentarians who subscribe with Oreja, Lavilla and Becerril are former ministers Rodolfo Martín Villa, Jesús Sancho Rof, José Manuel García Margallo and Salvador Sánchez-Terán, and Ramón Tamames, who was a deputy of the PCE in the list, also joins the constituent legislature of 1977 list.

All of them show in the manifest a deep concern in face of the “difficult time” that Spain is living waiting to form the new Executive, and after recalling the “height of sight, generosity and resignation” that allowed to elaborate the Constitution “of the concord”, they call for a new agreement. An agreement that they see necessary before the challenges of Spain and before the “disturbing ideological bipolarization” and that allows “to strengthen the unity of the nation and the democratic coexistence within the Constitution”.

“Only that great agreement will be possible,” says the manifesto, “by forming a government with broad parliamentary support and firmly grounded in the Constitution.” In that context, they ask to set aside electoral discrepancies and interests in the face of how much the Spaniards play and demand a program focused on strengthening the social and democratic state of law to better guarantee Spain’s unity and coexistence.

After stressing that this agreement should be open to parties that have the sincere will to cooperate with it, they urge the future Government to also promote a great pact with social agents as was done in the Transition. This manifesto is added to the one that nearly half a thousand people have backed, promoted by the opinion club La España que Reúne (The Spain that Gathers) and in which it warns of the “very serious political error” that a Government formed exclusively by PSOE and Unidas Podemos, and in addition of “an irresponsibility that would put liberties and citizen coexistence at risk”.

The document is gathering, above all, civil society firms, although it is also signed by intellectuals such as Fernando Savater, former socialist minister César Antonio Molina, former socialist leaders Joaquín Leguina, Nicolás Redondo Terreros and José Rodríguez de la Borbolla; Barcelona leader of Pel Canvi, Manuel Valls or the founder of Ciudadanos, Francesc Carreras, among others. The manifesto, called the Letter to the Spanish, advocates a government that excludes nationalists and populists and relies on political formations that occupy the center of the political board.

“At the moment, a government that represents only half of the country is not in a position to carry out the essential reforms to face the future nor will it cause recent wounds to heal,” the text emphasizes. In addition, it defends the basic consensus reached in the Transition and bets on opening a phase of “constitutional and transversal” collaboration, which places Spanish politics in moderate positions, “far from sectarian extremisms”.



View all posts

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *